The Making of a Royal Yacht Club

The archives of the RLymYC were largely lost in the great flood of 1989 when much of Bath Road and both clubs were inundated. An attempt was made to save them and they languished in a container outside the Club until they were rediscovered. An official Club Archivist was appointed to oversee their preservation. Please scroll down and browse the various sections below to explore our history.

Club Officers

Flag Officers and Committee Members past and present

PotterShip

The Magazine recording the Clubs achievements first published in 1989 and continuing to the present day.

The early years

Fascinating articles and stories of how the Club began. 

Anniversary Publications

The 50th and 75th anniversary publications

ePotterNews

ePotterNews took over from the print edition and allowed us to publish monthly information to members about upcoming events at the Club

PotterNews

Printed news-sheets published between 2005 and 2008

Information Sheets

Information Sheets supplemented the Bulletins between 1973 and 1986

Bulletins

Bulletins were the main communications to the Members between 1946 and 1986

Commodores Photographs

Photographs of all the Commodores including their years of office.  Some have a summary of achievements.

Royal Lymington Cup

The Club’s most prestigious race ran between 1997 and 1999

Local and Yachting History

Some publications we have found of relevance to the Club and the local area